menu
An oasis for those who love classic stories. Los Angeles Times

Student Matinees

Weekday Matinees for Student Groups

Student Matinees

Book Early!

Our weekday matinees especially for students sell out quickly. Your students will enjoy a full-length production, presented by the same professional cast as our regular performances, and a lively, post-show discussion with the artists. Prepare your students for the performance with classroom activities in our Study Guides. When ordering, be sure to ask about our In-class Workshops.

Student Matinee Performances may be added based on demand.

To book: Contact the Education Department | 626.356.3104


TICKETS: $18 (groups of 10 or more) + Handling Fee


Fall 2019 – Student Matinee Dates

Frankenstein 

  • Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, Aug. 29, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Tuesday, Sep. 2, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Wednesday, Sep. 4, 2019 at 10:30am SOLD OUT
  • Thursday, Sep 5, 2019 at 10:30am SOLD OUT

Gem of the Ocean

  • Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2019 at 10:30am

Buried Child

  • Tuesday, Oct. 22, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, Nov. 7, 2019 at 10:30am

A Christmas Carol

  • Thursday, Dec. 5, 2019 at 10:30am LIMITED AVAILABILITY
  • Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, Dec. 12, 2019 at 10:30am SOLD OUT
  • Tuesday, Dec. 17, 2019 at 10:30am
  • Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2019 at 10:30am

Spring 2020 – Student Matinee Dates

The Winter’s Tale

  • Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, Feb. 20, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, Mar. 12, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Tuesday, Mar. 17, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2020 at 10:30am

Alice in Wonderland 

  • Tuesday, Mar. 10, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, Mar. 26, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Wednesday, Apr. 15, 2020 at 10:30am

Sweeney Todd

  • Wednesday, May 13, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 14, 2020 at 10:30am
  • Thursday, May 21, 2020 at 10:30am

Questions? Contact the Education Department | 626.356.3104


Many of the students that visit A Noise Within have never before attended a live production. As a result, they are often unfamiliar with proper theatre etiquette. Before your field trip, please take the time to review the following document with your students: Theatre Etiquette for Student Matinees


Special thanks to our Dinner on Stage donors who kept the arts alive this year by supporting our Student Matinees (SMATs):

SMAT Performance Sponsor ($5,000 and above)
Dr. Richard R. Green
William & Priscilla Kennedy
Alan M. & Sheila R. Lamson
Richard & Sally Roberts

School Sponsor ($2,500 and above)
Kathleen & James Drummy
Barbara Henderson
Margaret H. Sedenquist
Rhodes & Liz Trussell

Class Sponsor ($1,000 and above)
Peter & Molly Bachmann
Bill & Claire Bogaard
Ginny & John Cushman
Armando Gonzalez & Brenda Berg
Sandy Greenstein, in honor of Albert Greenstein
Ryan & Denise Jay
Elyse Klein, in honor of Terri Murray
Keith Miller
Terri Murray
Ms. Diana Peterson More
Rosemary S. Risley
Daniel Rothmuller
Lyn Spector
Ann M. Steinmetz
Lois Tandy
Vickie Taylor
Bill & Rebecca Woods

Workshop Sponsor ($500 and above)
Ruth & Jim Dewar
Jack & Becky Doody
Diane Glatt & David Holtz
Jim Kelly
Tom & Gloria Lang
Rary Simmons
Deborah Strang
Janice Ohta & Fred Weiss

Bus Sponsor ($350 and above)
Judi Barhydt
Loren & Alice Brodhead
Meg Huntington Cajero
Robert & Joan Cathcart
Coachman Moore & Associates, Inc.
Julie & Brian Daniels
Victoria Degtyareva & Michael Bateman
Linda Dozier
Joan C. Mills
Barbara Goen Nemer
Pete & Catherine Palermo
Richard & Sally Roberts
Jose Rubio
Louise Mayeri Spillman, in honor of Jack Spillman
Donna Tucker
Mary I. Wilson

Additional Donors
Elvio Angeloni
Peter & Molly Bachmann
Janet Castro
Jason King
Elizabeth Kurila & Michael Mindlin, in honor of the Steinmetz Foundation
Irene Lacher, in honor of Frances Lacher
Jaye Scholl & Charlie Bohlen

Header Photo by Brian Feinzimer